top of page

"La Inspiración de la Montaña de 14 Colores", The Inspiration of the Mountain of 14 Colors


Serranía de Hornocal,  city of Humahuaca in the Argentine province of Jujuy

Before coming to Buenos Aires, I had never experienced such beautiful places, little did I know destiny would have me explore the "road less traveled". I would be embarking on a journey to Northern Argentina, a beautiful place in which dessert meets jungle and the landscapes are breathtaking (literally = I felt out of breath momentarily due to the high altitude). This trip was a spontaneous adventure- from not landing in our destination (due to weather conditions-fog)-- to not being able to find a hotel/hostel because they were all booked and it was a holiday-- to having an amazing times with friends and an unforgettable trip which will always be dear to my heart.

1. Our flight took a detour and landed in the city we had planned to visit the next day due to the fog the plane could not land in Salta but instead Jujuy ( a city more North of Salta), despite this we managed to make the best of it and just went with the flow. We would have had to wait 3 hours for a bus to take us from Salta to Jujuy but instead out of instinct I realized an American accent from a group of students who were taking a taxi from Jujuy airport to Salta, so we decided to spontaneously join them since they were missing 3 people to take the taxi.

My first stop was Salta, also known as Salta la Linda (Salta the Beautiful). In which they had beautiful cathedrals an churches!

Salta, Iglesia San Fransisco, Saint Francis Church

2. Humahuaca- This beautiful place offered me so much comfort in the mountains. The Serranía de Hornocal the range of mountains was a full on experience. Getting to the top of the, despite the high altitude, made me realize that despite external pressure or adversity, to not let fear stop me from pursuing my dreams or giving myself a chance. I was able to intern abroad with two amazing organizations in two areas I am really passionate about and if it was not for the Cultural Vistas Fellowship I would have not been able to do so.

bottom of page