top of page

The Day of Spontaneous, Random Excursions

As I am in my last week here in Argentina, I am on an epic quest to make my last few days here memorable. I am filling them with friends and exploring, while working on a couple of unfinished projects for work and writing blog posts. Due to the intense busyness of the winter vacations season for Aves Argentinas, I have had these past two days off. I have been using them to my advantage. Yesterday I went to La Boca, one of the oldest neighborhoods in Buenos Aires, known for its colorful artwork and painted sidewalks and buildings. Today, I had planned on going to the Reserva Natural Otamendi, a National nature reserve of Argentina about a two hours train ride from Buenos Aires, but that plan did not come to fruition. I got to Retiro (the main train station) and found out that the next train did leave until two, by the time I got there I would have an hour and a half until Otamendi closed at 6. I made the executive decision to go on Monday, my last full day here, and spend the entire day there rather than barely enjoy it. So, today – July 31, 2018 – became the day of spontaneous, random excursions.

To start, I exited Retiro and was intrigued to see a huge clock tower in front of my face (okay across the street). Near that, there was a photography exhibit about the different lenses from which humans see the world. Around Retiro and the Plaza were more high-rise buildings and green spaces, all doused in a cloudless sunny sky, making it all picturesque. After a week and a half of nothing but clouds and rain, I was ready to soak up the sun and walk in the beautiful weather. So, I set off across the street to see what the other Plaza held and stumbled upon the National Monument for the Fallen Soldiers in the War at Malvinas. As I approached, I did not realize the three soldiers coming for the changing of the guard until the last moment, I almost got ran over. It was embarrassing, but the good news is I wasn’t the only one in the way. But still, maybe I should pay more attention.

The changing of the guard was interesting, and their march involved the dramatic swinging of one arm that was not holding the gun. This and the feather situated in their tall hat made an interesting impression, and one I had not seen in person before. As I continued my wandering, I came upon the Museo de Armas. Having nothing better to do, and a fascination for museums, I entered. I have never seen so many weapons in person in my life. They had suits of armor, gas masks, swords, replicas of every type of soldier uniform used in Argentina history, a room dedicated to primitive warfare and Japanese warfare, rooms of cannons, guns (through all times of history), and more. In total there were 18 rooms of arms to view. It was interesting and unsettling at the same time – what is with humans and weapons? Seriously.

From there, I walked from the Museo de Armas to Teatro Colon, and landed in one of the older parts of Buenos Aires. I passed by the courts, Obelisco, Barrio Olympico for the 2018 Youth Games, and many, many other old buildings with beautiful architecture. As I walked for hours, turning on streets that looked interesting, I was shopping for my friends and family. This side of Buenos Aires, it is a tourist hot spot and a shopping epicenter. Among the many shops and people I passed, I walked into a few including a shop specializing on olives and olive products from Mendoza (a province of Argentina known for wine, honey, and olives) and an organic store that sold artesenal tea, gluten free alfajores, and other things. To finish the day, I bought maté to smuggle back with me from the local grocery store on my way home. I guess Argentina may have wedged its way into my life and my heart; I will be taking the cultural staple back with me. As I strolled home, I reminisced on my time here, thinking of the people, places, public transportation, and culture I will miss.

bottom of page